sea shore thoughts | covid 19

8 April 2020

I haven’t been in the water for what feels like too long, and my body craves the feeling. This is a yearning I know most of my friends are experiencing these days because of the restrictions due to covid-19. Here we are is this great big world and yet we are temporarily leashed like a dog. It is for good reason though – we are strong, we are resilient, we will be okay. Thankfully, the water awaits our return and oh how sweet it will be when those waves embrace us once again.

My mother gifted me a year of MasterClass and I’ve been watching Billy Collins talk so eloquently of the art of poetry for a few days now. He has stirred the pot and made me want to write again, to release all the wildly pent thoughts. So, here is one to share with you… obviously you can tell my mind is currently one-tracked, as I sure am missing that salty water and the world it holds!

• wonder •

she twirls and curls
persevering in her motion
moving swiftly, strongly, gracefully
the destination never concrete

watch her whisper
to the tiny grains of sand
kissing each seashell
she’s dancing on the shoreline

retracting meticulously
at just the right moment
careful not to go
too far

her soft song calls you in
go
her shimmering skin catches your eye
like shiny tinsel

you look out
see everything
and nothing
all at once

x devon

Leave a comment